Kaduna State 5th Assembly appoints new Speaker, deputy


Kaduna State House of Assembly Tuesday elected Aminu Abdullahi Shagali, member representing Sabon Gari Constituency as the new Speaker for the 5th Assembly in the state.

With the appointment of Shagali, who is from Zone 1 (Sabon Gari), he is the 7th Speaker of the Assembly after Alhaji Abbas S. Pada, Mohammed Y. Farakwai, Bashir Zubairu, Ahmed Hassan Jumare, Mu’azu Gangara and the immediate past Speaker Shehu Usman Tahir.

Speaking shortly after the inauguration of the law makers of the 5th Assembly and his swearing in as the Speaker by the Clerk of the house, Bar. Umma Aliyu Hikima, Aminu Abdullahi Shagali in his acceptance speech promised a leadership without majority and minority concept except oneness.

He also promised a leadership which would ensure that the concept of check and balance are put in place without prejudice and maintain cordial working relationship with other arms of Government.

He vowed to discharge his duties in accordance with the provisions of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria without selfishness or sentimentality.

According to him, “the new majority shall work on non partisan basis within and outside the precincts of the assembly. “In my leadership there will be no minority concept except oneness.

“We implore each and every Hon member for a cordial relationship among themselves. Respect the rule of law and standing rules of the honourable House.

“Our plenary and committee oversight functions should be taken more seriously and accordingly we shall enact reasonable and effective laws for the good governance of the state and the nation at large.

“We call on the press to report activities of the plenary or committee level objectively as we shall provide for press freedom so as to ensure that our activities are related and disseminated correctly and effectively to the people,” he said.

However, Shagali has assumed office and made his debut appearance yesterday with the official commissioning of the constituency office of member representing Makera Constituency, Hon Yusuf Liman.

Meanwhile, member representing Kachia Constituency, Hon John Audu Kwaturu was appointed the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly.

Leave a Reply